TD Platinum Travel Visa

TD · Visa · travel

Platinum Travel Visa

$89 fee · yr 1 freeForeign fee not statedVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from TD's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$816

Year 2+, after fees

$477

every year after

3 years, after fees

$1,770

Break-even

Month 1

Year 1$816
Year 2+$477
Welcome or anniversary bonus$250 / $0Rewards on spending$566 / $566Fees (taken off the end)-$0 / −$89
Pays for itself in month 1 · value so far covers fees so far
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

4.5x
Groc
Groceries
4.5x
Dine
Dining and takeout
1.5x
Gas
Gas and EV charging
1.5x
Air
Flights
1.5x
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
4.5x
Transit
Transit and rideshare
3x
Stream
Streaming
1.5x
Drug
Drugstores
1.5x
Online
Online shopping
3x
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
1.5x
Other
Everything else

Points at 0.50¢ each (cash or statement credit); published range 0.5¢ to 0.5¢. Source: Milesopedia points valuations, in effect since September 1, 2026.

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$438$99$636Month 1
Couple ($2,555/mo)$691$352$1,396Month 1
Family ($3,350/mo)$816$477$1,770Month 1
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$855$516$1,886Month 1
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$1,440$1,101$3,641Month 1

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on groceries and dining, where it earns above its base rate.
  • Even light spenders: on a student's $985 a month it still earns back its fee.

Who should skip it

  • Nothing stands out on the presets; check it against your own spending.

Fees and rates

Annual fee
$89, waived in year 1
Additional card
$35
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Purchase APR
21.99%

Rewards

  • 6x on expedia For TD
  • 4.5x on groceries, first $15,000 a year
  • 4.5x on restaurants, first $15,000 a year
  • 4.5x on public transit, first $15,000 a year
  • 3x on recurring bills and streaming, first $15,000 a year combined
  • 1.5x on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
None published
Provinces
All (no restriction stated)

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Point value: TD Rewards points at 0.50 cents each: no redemption style chosen, so cash or statement credit. Source: Milesopedia points valuations, in effect since September 1, 2026.
  • Welcome bonus: 15,000 points on the first purchase and 35,000 after $3,000 in 180 days. Your spending meets it in month 1.
  • Travel portal: Portal-only rates aren't counted, since you book directly.
  • Note: TD states no minimum income for this card.
  • Note: The first-year fee is rebated.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $477.

Frequently asked questions

Is the TD Platinum Travel Visa worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $816 in year 1 and $477 a year after that, after a $89 annual fee, waived in the first year. It covers its fee by month 1.

What is the TD Platinum Travel Visa welcome offer?

15,000 points on the first purchase and 35,000 after $3,000 in 180 days.

Does the TD Platinum Travel Visa charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 39 other cards on the Canadian card comparison or read how cards are valued.