American Express SimplyCash Preferred

American Express · American Express · cash back

SimplyCash Preferred

$119.88 feeForeign fee not statedVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from American Express's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$1,136

Year 2+, after fees

$936

every year after

3 years, after fees

$3,058

Break-even

Month 1

Year 1$1,136
Year 2+$936
Welcome or anniversary bonus$200 / $0Rewards on spending$1,056 / $1,056Fees (taken off the end)−$120 / −$120
Pays for itself in month 1 · value so far covers fees so far
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

4%
Groc
Groceries
2%
Dine
Dining and takeout
4%
Gas
Gas and EV charging
2%
Air
Flights
2%
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
2%
Transit
Transit and rideshare
2%
Stream
Streaming
2%
Drug
Drugstores
2%
Online
Online shopping
2%
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
2%
Other
Everything else

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$391$191$823Month 3
Couple ($2,555/mo)$873$673$2,270Month 1
Family ($3,350/mo)$1,136$936$3,058Month 1
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$1,167$967$3,152Month 1
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$2,351$2,151$6,702Month 1

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on groceries and gas, where it earns above its base rate.
  • Even light spenders: on a student's $985 a month it still earns back its fee.

Who should skip it

  • Nothing stands out on the presets; check it against your own spending.

Fees and rates

Annual fee
$119.88
Additional card
No fee
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Purchase APR
21.99%

Rewards

  • 4% on gas stations in Canada
  • 4% on grocery stores in Canada, up to $1,200 back a year
  • 2% on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
None published
Provinces
All (no restriction stated)

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Cash back: Paid in cash, so the value is exact, not an estimate.
  • Welcome bonus: 10% back on up to $2,000 in purchases in the first 3 months. Your spending meets it in month 1.
  • Note: The fee is $9.99 a month ($119.88 a year).
  • Note: The welcome offer is 10% back on up to $2,000 in the first 3 months; it's counted once you reach $2,000.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $936.

Head to head

Frequently asked questions

Is the American Express SimplyCash Preferred worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $1,136 in year 1 and $936 a year after that, after a $119.88 annual fee. It covers its fee by month 1.

What is the American Express SimplyCash Preferred welcome offer?

10% back on up to $2,000 in purchases in the first 3 months.

Does the American Express SimplyCash Preferred charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 39 other cards on the Canadian card comparison or read how cards are valued.