TD Cash Back Visa

TD · Visa · cash back

Cash Back Visa

No annual feeForeign fee not statedVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from TD's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$269

Year 2+, after fees

$269

every year after

3 years, after fees

$807

Break-even

No fee

Year 1$269
Year 2+$269
Rewards on spending$269 / $269Fees (taken off the end)-$0 / -$0
No annual fee
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

1%
Groc
Groceries
0.5%
Dine
Dining and takeout
1%
Gas
Gas and EV charging
0.5%
Air
Flights
0.5%
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
1%
Transit
Transit and rideshare
1%
Stream
Streaming
0.5%
Drug
Drugstores
0.5%
Online
Online shopping
1%
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
0.5%
Other
Everything else

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$91$91$274No fee
Couple ($2,555/mo)$211$211$632No fee
Family ($3,350/mo)$269$269$807No fee
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$296$296$889No fee
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$558$558$1,673No fee

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on groceries and bills, where it earns above its base rate.

Who should skip it

  • Nothing stands out on the presets; check it against your own spending.

Fees and rates

Annual fee
None
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Purchase APR
21.99%

Rewards

  • 1% on groceries, first $5,000 a year
  • 1% on gas and EV charging, first $5,000 a year
  • 1% on public transit, first $5,000 a year
  • 1% on recurring bills and streaming, first $5,000 a year
  • 0.5% on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
None published
Provinces
All (no restriction stated)

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Cash back: Paid in cash, so the value is exact, not an estimate.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $269.

Frequently asked questions

Is the TD Cash Back Visa worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $269 in year 1 and $269 a year after that, after no annual fee.

What is the TD Cash Back Visa welcome offer?

There's no welcome offer on the issuer's page.

Does the TD Cash Back Visa charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 39 other cards on the Canadian card comparison or read how cards are valued.