Scotiabank American Express Card

Scotiabank · American Express · points

American Express Card

No annual feeForeign fee not statedIncome: $12,000 personalVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from Scotiabank's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$735

Year 2+, after fees

$635

every year after

3 years, after fees

$2,004

Break-even

No fee

Year 1$735
Year 2+$635
Welcome or anniversary bonus$100 / $0Rewards on spending$635 / $635Fees (taken off the end)-$0 / -$0
No annual fee
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

3x
Groc
Groceries
2x
Dine
Dining and takeout
2x
Gas
Gas and EV charging
1x
Air
Flights
1x
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
2x
Transit
Transit and rideshare
2x
Stream
Streaming
1x
Drug
Drugstores
1x
Online
Online shopping
1x
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
1x
Other
Everything else

Points at 1.00¢ each (cash or statement credit); published range 1¢ to 1¢. Source: Milesopedia points valuations, in effect since September 1, 2026.

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$301$201$703No fee
Couple ($2,555/mo)$585$485$1,556No fee
Family ($3,350/mo)$735$635$2,004No fee
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$768$668$2,105No fee
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$1,446$1,346$4,139No fee

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on groceries and dining, where it earns above its base rate.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone below the published income minimum ($12,000 personal).

Fees and rates

Annual fee
None
Additional card
No fee
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Purchase APR
21.99%

Rewards

  • 4x on hotels and car rentals on Scene+ Travel
  • 3x on sobeys, Safeway, FreshCo and other participating grocers (assumed half of grocery spending)
  • 2x on dining, other groceries, entertainment, gas, transit and streaming
  • 1x on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
$12,000 personal
Provinces
All (no restriction stated)

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Point value: Scene+ points at 1.00 cents each: no redemption style chosen, so cash or statement credit. Source: Milesopedia points valuations, in effect since September 1, 2026.
  • Welcome bonus: 2,500 points after $250 and 7,500 more after $1,000 in the first 3 months. Your spending meets it in month 1.
  • Travel portal: Portal-only rates aren't counted, since you book directly.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $635.

Head to head

Frequently asked questions

Is the Scotiabank American Express Card worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $735 in year 1 and $635 a year after that, after no annual fee.

What is the Scotiabank American Express Card welcome offer?

2,500 points after $250 and 7,500 more after $1,000 in the first 3 months. The issuer lists it until Nov 1, 2026.

Does the Scotiabank American Express Card charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

What income do you need for the Scotiabank American Express Card?

Scotiabank publishes a minimum of $12,000 personal income. Approval depends on more than income, and we don't estimate approval odds.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 39 other cards on the Canadian card comparison or read how cards are valued.