Scotiabank Momentum Visa Infinite

Scotiabank · Visa · cash back

Momentum Visa Infinite

$120 fee · yr 1 freeForeign fee not statedIncome: $60,000 personalVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from Scotiabank's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$1,184

Year 2+, after fees

$764

every year after

3 years, after fees

$2,713

Break-even

Month 1

Year 1$1,184
Year 2+$764
Welcome or anniversary bonus$300 / $0Rewards on spending$884 / $884Fees (taken off the end)-$0 / −$120
Pays for itself in month 1 · value so far covers fees so far
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

4%
Groc
Groceries
1%
Dine
Dining and takeout
2%
Gas
Gas and EV charging
1%
Air
Flights
1%
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
2%
Transit
Transit and rideshare
4%
Stream
Streaming
1%
Drug
Drugstores
1%
Online
Online shopping
4%
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
1%
Other
Everything else

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$577$157$892Month 1
Couple ($2,555/mo)$967$547$2,060Month 1
Family ($3,350/mo)$1,184$764$2,713Month 1
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$1,104$684$2,472Month 1
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$1,985$1,565$5,114Month 1

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on groceries and bills, where it earns above its base rate.
  • Even light spenders: on a student's $985 a month it still earns back its fee.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone below the published income minimum ($60,000 personal).

Fees and rates

Annual fee
$120, waived in year 1
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Purchase APR
20.99%
Intro APR on balance transfers
12 months, 2% fee

Rewards

  • 4% on groceries and recurring payments like bills and subscriptions
  • 2% on gas, EV charging and daily transit
  • 1% on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
$60,000 personal
Or assets
$250,000
Provinces
All (no restriction stated)

Scotiabank states a minimum income of $60,000 to $80,000 or more, or $250,000 to $300,000 or more in assets under management; the lower figures are used.

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Cash back: Paid in cash, so the value is exact, not an estimate.
  • Welcome bonus: 15% back on up to $2,000 in purchases in the first 3 months. Your spending meets it in month 1.
  • Note: 2% on food delivery isn't split out from dining.
  • Note: Scotiabank's page states each accelerated rate applies up to an annual spend limit of $25,000; one $25,000 limit is applied to the 4% categories and another to the 2% categories.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $764.

Head to head

Frequently asked questions

Is the Scotiabank Momentum Visa Infinite worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $1,184 in year 1 and $764 a year after that, after a $120 annual fee, waived in the first year. It covers its fee by month 1.

What is the Scotiabank Momentum Visa Infinite welcome offer?

15% back on up to $2,000 in purchases in the first 3 months. The issuer lists it until Nov 1, 2026.

Does the Scotiabank Momentum Visa Infinite charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

What income do you need for the Scotiabank Momentum Visa Infinite?

Scotiabank publishes a minimum of $60,000 personal income, or $250,000 in assets. Approval depends on more than income, and we don't estimate approval odds.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 39 other cards on the Canadian card comparison or read how cards are valued.