RBC ION+ Visa

RBC · Visa · points

ION+ Visa

$48 feeForeign fee not statedVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from RBC's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$521

Year 2+, after fees

$400

every year after

3 years, after fees

$1,361

Break-even

Month 1

Year 1$521
Year 2+$400
Welcome or anniversary bonus$122 / $0Rewards on spending$448 / $448Fees (taken off the end)−$48 / −$48
Pays for itself in month 1 · value so far covers fees so far
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

3x
Groc
Groceries
3x
Dine
Dining and takeout
3x
Gas
Gas and EV charging
1x
Air
Flights
1x
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
3x
Transit
Transit and rideshare
3x
Stream
Streaming
1x
Drug
Drugstores
1x
Online
Online shopping
1x
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
1x
Other
Everything else

Points at 0.58¢ each (cash or statement credit); published range 0.58¢ to 2.14¢. Source: RBC Avion Visa Infinite card page.

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$221$99$460Month 1
Couple ($2,555/mo)$417$295$1,049Month 1
Family ($3,350/mo)$521$400$1,361Month 1
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$544$423$1,430Month 1
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$998$876$2,791Month 1

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on groceries and dining, where it earns above its base rate.
  • Even light spenders: on a student's $985 a month it still earns back its fee.

Who should skip it

  • Nothing stands out on the presets; check it against your own spending.

Fees and rates

Annual fee
$48
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Purchase APR
20.99%

Rewards

  • 3x on groceries, gas, dining, food delivery, rideshare and streaming
  • 1x on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
None published
Provinces
All (no restriction stated)

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Point value: RBC Avion points at 0.58 cents each: no redemption style chosen, so cash or statement credit. Source: RBC Avion Visa Infinite card page.
  • Welcome bonus: 7,000 points on approval and 14,000 after $1,500 in 6 months. Your spending meets it in month 1.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $400.

Frequently asked questions

Is the RBC ION+ Visa worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $521 in year 1 and $400 a year after that, after a $48 annual fee. It covers its fee by month 1.

What is the RBC ION+ Visa welcome offer?

7,000 points on approval and 14,000 after $1,500 in 6 months. The issuer lists it until Nov 4, 2026.

Does the RBC ION+ Visa charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 39 other cards on the Canadian card comparison or read how cards are valued.