National Bank World Elite Mastercard

National Bank · Mastercard · travel

World Elite Mastercard

$150 feeForeign fee not statedIncome: $80,000 personal or $150,000 householdVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from National Bank's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$362

Year 2+, after fees

$362

every year after

3 years, after fees

$1,087

Break-even

Month 4

Year 1$362
Year 2+$362
Rewards on spending$422 / $422Credits$90 / $90Fees (taken off the end)−$150 / −$150
Pays for itself in month 4 · value so far covers fees so far
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

5x
Groc
Groceries
5x
Dine
Dining and takeout
2x
Gas
Gas and EV charging
1x
Air
Flights
1x
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
1x
Transit
Transit and rideshare
1x
Stream
Streaming
1x
Drug
Drugstores
1x
Online
Online shopping
2x
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
1x
Other
Everything else

Points at 0.40¢ each (cash or statement credit); published range 0.4¢ to 1¢. Source: National Bank World Elite Mastercard page (redemption examples).

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$73$73$218Month 9
Couple ($2,555/mo)$267$267$800Month 5
Family ($3,350/mo)$362$362$1,087Month 4
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$359$359$1,077Month 4
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$768$768$2,305Month 2

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on groceries and dining, where it earns above its base rate.
  • Even light spenders: on a student's $985 a month it still earns back its fee.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone below the published income minimum ($80,000 personal or $150,000 household).

Fees and rates

Annual fee
$150
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated

Rewards

  • 5x on groceries and restaurants, first $2,500 a month
  • 2x on groceries and restaurants above the cap, gas, EV charging and recurring bills
  • 2x on à la carte Travel
  • 1x on everything else

Credits, as counted

  • Annual travel credit (parking, bags, seats, lounges): $150 a year60% used

Eligibility and availability

Income
$80,000 personal or $150,000 household
Provinces
All (no restriction stated)

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Point value: National Bank À la carte Rewards points at 0.40 cents each: no redemption style chosen, so cash or statement credit. Source: National Bank World Elite Mastercard page (redemption examples).
  • Credits: Each credit counts at the share a typical cardholder uses (listed on the card's page).
  • Travel portal: Portal-only rates aren't counted, since you book directly.
  • Note: The welcome offer ended June 29, 2026; no new one is published.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Purchase APR doesn't load on National Bank's page.
  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $362.

Frequently asked questions

Is the National Bank World Elite Mastercard worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $362 in year 1 and $362 a year after that, after a $150 annual fee. It covers its fee by month 4.

What is the National Bank World Elite Mastercard welcome offer?

There's no welcome offer on the issuer's page.

Does the National Bank World Elite Mastercard charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

What income do you need for the National Bank World Elite Mastercard?

National Bank publishes a minimum of $80,000 personal income or $150,000 household income. Approval depends on more than income, and we don't estimate approval odds.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 39 other cards on the Canadian card comparison or read how cards are valued.