Citi Strata

Citi · Mastercard · cash back

Strata

No annual feeForeign fee not statedVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from Citi's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$724

Year 2+, after fees

$724

every year after

3 years, after fees

$2,171

Break-even

No fee

Year 1$724
Year 2+$724
Rewards on spending$724 / $724Fees (taken off the end)-$0 / -$0
No annual fee
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

3x
Groc
Groceries
2x
Dine
Dining and takeout
3x
Gas
Gas and EV charging
1x
Air
Flights
1x
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
3x
Transit
Transit and rideshare
3x
Stream
Streaming
1x
Drug
Drugstores
1x
Online
Online shopping
1x
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
1x
Other
Everything else

Points at 1.00¢ each (cash or statement credit); published range 1¢ to 1.9¢. Source: The Points Guy monthly valuations, October 2026.

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$236$236$707No fee
Couple ($2,555/mo)$550$550$1,651No fee
Family ($3,350/mo)$724$724$2,171No fee
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$739$739$2,218No fee
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$1,486$1,486$4,457No fee

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on groceries and dining, where it earns above its base rate.

Who should skip it

  • Nothing stands out on the presets; check it against your own spending.

Fees and rates

Annual fee
None
Additional card
No fee
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated

Rewards

  • 5x on hotels, car rentals and attractions on cititravel.com
  • 3x on supermarkets, gas and EV charging, select transit
  • 3x on your self-select category (select streaming by default)
  • 2x on restaurants
  • 1x on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
None published

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Point value: Citi ThankYou Points (Strata Premier) points at 1.00 cents each: no redemption style chosen, so cash or statement credit. Source: The Points Guy monthly valuations, October 2026.
  • Welcome bonus: Not counted: the full offer isn't published (Bonus points after a spending requirement; the amounts don't load on Citi's page).
  • Travel portal: Portal-only rates aren't counted, since you book directly.
  • Note: Strata points may not transfer to every ThankYou partner; the transfer value is the program's.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Purchase APR, intro APR and balance transfer fee don't load on Citi's page.
  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $724.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Citi Strata worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $724 in year 1 and $724 a year after that, after no annual fee.

What is the Citi Strata welcome offer?

Bonus points after a spending requirement; the amounts don't load on Citi's page, so it isn't counted in the values here.

Does the Citi Strata charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 59 other cards on the US card comparison or read how cards are valued.