Citi Double Cash

Citi · Mastercard · cash back

Double Cash

No annual feeForeign fee not statedVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from Citi's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$1,004

Year 2+, after fees

$804

every year after

3 years, after fees

$2,612

Break-even

No fee

Year 1$1,004
Year 2+$804
Welcome or anniversary bonus$200 / $0Rewards on spending$804 / $804Fees (taken off the end)-$0 / -$0
No annual fee
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

2%
Groc
Groceries
2%
Dine
Dining and takeout
2%
Gas
Gas and EV charging
2%
Air
Flights
2%
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
2%
Transit
Transit and rideshare
2%
Stream
Streaming
2%
Drug
Drugstores
2%
Online
Online shopping
2%
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
2%
Other
Everything else

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$436$236$909No fee
Couple ($2,555/mo)$813$613$2,040No fee
Family ($3,350/mo)$1,004$804$2,612No fee
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$1,131$931$2,994No fee
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$2,110$1,910$5,931No fee

Who it suits

  • People who want one flat rate on everything.

Who should skip it

  • Nothing stands out on the presets; check it against your own spending.

Fees and rates

Annual fee
None
Additional card
No fee
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Purchase APR
18.49% to 28.74% (variable)
Intro APR on balance transfers
18 months, 3% fee

Rewards

  • 5% on hotels, car rentals and attractions on Citi Travel
  • 2% on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
None published

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Cash back: Paid in cash, so the value is exact, not an estimate.
  • Welcome bonus: $200 (20,000 points) after $1,500 in purchases in the first 6 months. Your spending meets it in month 1.
  • Travel portal: Portal-only rates aren't counted, since you book directly.
  • Note: Earns 1% when you buy and 1% when you pay, paid as ThankYou points worth 1 cent.
  • Note: The balance transfer fee is 3% during the intro period, then 5%.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $804.

Head to head

Frequently asked questions

Is the Citi Double Cash worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $1,004 in year 1 and $804 a year after that, after no annual fee.

What is the Citi Double Cash welcome offer?

$200 (20,000 points) after $1,500 in purchases in the first 6 months.

Does the Citi Double Cash charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 59 other cards on the US card comparison or read how cards are valued.