Chase Prime Visa

Chase · Visa · cash back

Prime Visa

No annual feeForeign fee not statedVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from Chase's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$708

Year 2+, after fees

$558

every year after

3 years, after fees

$1,824

Break-even

No fee

Year 1$708
Year 2+$558
Welcome or anniversary bonus$150 / $0Rewards on spending$558 / $558Fees (taken off the end)-$0 / -$0
No annual fee
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

1%
Groc
Groceries
2%
Dine
Dining and takeout
2%
Gas
Gas and EV charging
1%
Air
Flights
1%
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
2%
Transit
Transit and rideshare
1%
Stream
Streaming
1%
Drug
Drugstores
5%
Online
Online shopping
1%
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
1%
Other
Everything else

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$327$177$681No fee
Couple ($2,555/mo)$584$434$1,451No fee
Family ($3,350/mo)$708$558$1,824No fee
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$796$646$2,087No fee
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$1,441$1,291$4,024No fee

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on online and dining, where it earns above its base rate.

Who should skip it

  • Nothing stands out on the presets; check it against your own spending.

Fees and rates

Annual fee
None
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Purchase APR
18.99% to 27.74% (variable)

Rewards

  • 5% on Amazon.com and Audible (assumed half of online shopping)
  • 5% on travel booked through Chase Travel
  • 2% on gas stations, restaurants, local transit and rideshare
  • 1% on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
None published

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Cash back: Paid in cash, so the value is exact, not an estimate.
  • Welcome bonus: $150 Amazon gift card on approval. Your spending meets it in month 1.
  • Travel portal: Portal-only rates aren't counted, since you book directly.
  • Note: Needs a Prime membership; its fee isn't counted.
  • Note: 5% at Amazon assumes half your online shopping is at Amazon. Whole Foods isn't split out from groceries.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $558.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Chase Prime Visa worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $708 in year 1 and $558 a year after that, after no annual fee.

What is the Chase Prime Visa welcome offer?

$150 Amazon gift card on approval.

Does the Chase Prime Visa charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 59 other cards on the US card comparison or read how cards are valued.