Chase Freedom Unlimited

Chase · Visa · cash back

Freedom Unlimited

No annual feeForeign fee not statedVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from Chase's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$886

Year 2+, after fees

$686

every year after

3 years, after fees

$2,257

Break-even

No fee

Year 1$886
Year 2+$686
Welcome or anniversary bonus$200 / $0Rewards on spending$686 / $686Fees (taken off the end)-$0 / -$0
No annual fee
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

1.5x
Groc
Groceries
3x
Dine
Dining and takeout
1.5x
Gas
Gas and EV charging
1.5x
Air
Flights
1.5x
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
1.5x
Transit
Transit and rideshare
1.5x
Stream
Streaming
3x
Drug
Drugstores
1.5x
Online
Online shopping
1.5x
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
1.5x
Other
Everything else

Points at 1.00¢ each (cash or statement credit); published range 1¢ to 1¢. Source: The Points Guy monthly valuations, October 2026.

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$408$208$824No fee
Couple ($2,555/mo)$730$530$1,790No fee
Family ($3,350/mo)$886$686$2,257No fee
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$1,014$814$2,641No fee
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$1,813$1,613$5,038No fee

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on dining and drugstores, where it earns above its base rate.

Who should skip it

  • Nothing stands out on the presets; check it against your own spending.

Fees and rates

Annual fee
None
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Intro APR on purchases
15 months, then the purchase APR
Intro APR on balance transfers
15 months

Rewards

  • 5x on travel booked through Chase Travel
  • 3x on dining and drugstores
  • 1.5x on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
None published

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Point value: Chase Ultimate Rewards (Freedom cards alone) points at 1.00 cents each: no redemption style chosen, so cash or statement credit. Source: The Points Guy monthly valuations, October 2026.
  • Welcome bonus: $200 bonus (20,000 points) after $500 in purchases in the first 3 months. Your spending meets it in month 1.
  • Travel portal: Portal-only rates aren't counted, since you book directly.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Foreign transaction fee and balance transfer fee aren't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $686.

Head to head

Frequently asked questions

Is the Chase Freedom Unlimited worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $886 in year 1 and $686 a year after that, after no annual fee.

What is the Chase Freedom Unlimited welcome offer?

$200 bonus (20,000 points) after $500 in purchases in the first 3 months.

Does the Chase Freedom Unlimited charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 59 other cards on the US card comparison or read how cards are valued.