Chase Freedom Rise

Chase · Visa · cash back

Freedom Rise

No annual feeForeign fee not statedVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from Chase's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

$628

Year 2+, after fees

$603

every year after

3 years, after fees

$1,834

Break-even

No fee

Year 1$628
Year 2+$603
Welcome or anniversary bonus$25 / $0Rewards on spending$603 / $603Fees (taken off the end)-$0 / -$0
No annual fee
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

1.5x
Groc
Groceries
1.5x
Dine
Dining and takeout
1.5x
Gas
Gas and EV charging
1.5x
Air
Flights
1.5x
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
1.5x
Transit
Transit and rideshare
1.5x
Stream
Streaming
1.5x
Drug
Drugstores
1.5x
Online
Online shopping
1.5x
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
1.5x
Other
Everything else

Points at 1.00¢ each (cash or statement credit); published range 1¢ to 1¢. Source: The Points Guy monthly valuations, October 2026.

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)$202$177$557No fee
Couple ($2,555/mo)$485$460$1,405No fee
Family ($3,350/mo)$628$603$1,834No fee
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)$723$698$2,120No fee
Big spender ($7,960/mo)$1,458$1,433$4,323No fee

Who it suits

  • People who want one flat rate on everything.

Who should skip it

  • Nothing stands out on the presets; check it against your own spending.

Fees and rates

Annual fee
None
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Purchase APR
18.49% to 27.99% (variable)

Rewards

  • 1.5x on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
None published

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Point value: Chase Ultimate Rewards (Freedom cards alone) points at 1.00 cents each: no redemption style chosen, so cash or statement credit. Source: The Points Guy monthly valuations, October 2026.
  • Welcome bonus: $25 statement credit for enrolling in automatic payments in the first 3 months. Your spending meets it in month 1.
  • Note: 2% on Lyft rides (through September 30, 2027) isn't split out from transit.
  • Note: The $25 needs automatic payments kept on for 90 days.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's $603.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Chase Freedom Rise worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth $628 in year 1 and $603 a year after that, after no annual fee.

What is the Chase Freedom Rise welcome offer?

$25 statement credit for enrolling in automatic payments in the first 3 months.

Does the Chase Freedom Rise charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 59 other cards on the US card comparison or read how cards are valued.