Bank of America Atmos Rewards Ascent

Bank of America · Visa · travel

Atmos Rewards Ascent

$95 feeForeign fee not statedVerified Oct 16, 2026
Apply

Advertiser disclosure: we may earn a commission when you apply through some links on this page. It never affects rank: cards are ordered by the value worked out from your spending. How we make money · Methodology

Terms read from Bank of America's page on Oct 16, 2026.

Spending like:Use my numbers

Year 1, after fees

estimated value, about $1,418, based on 1.5 cents per point

Year 2+, after fees

estimated value, about $668, based on 1.5 cents per point

every year after

3 years, after fees

estimated value, about $2,755, based on 1.5 cents per point

Break-even

Month 1

Year 1estimated value, about $1,418, based on 1.5 cents per point
Year 2+estimated value, about $668, based on 1.5 cents per point
Welcome or anniversary bonus$750 / $0Rewards on spending$763 / $763Fees (taken off the end)−$95 / −$95
Pays for itself in month 1 · value so far covers fees so far
Year 1Year 2Year 3

Earn rate by category

1x
Groc
Groceries
1x
Dine
Dining and takeout
2x
Gas
Gas and EV charging
3x
Air
Flights
1x
Hotel
Hotels and car rentals
2x
Transit
Transit and rideshare
2x
Stream
Streaming
1x
Drug
Drugstores
1x
Online
Online shopping
2x
Bills
Phone, internet and utilities
1x
Other
Everything else

Points at 1.50¢ each (lowest published value); published range 1.5¢ to 1.55¢. Source: The Points Guy monthly valuations, October 2026.

All values are after each card's annual or monthly fee, and foreign transaction fees when you set foreign spending. Additional-card fees and memberships some benefits need (such as Amazon Prime or Instacart+) aren't included.

Values for points and miles are estimates based on published redemption valuations; actual value depends on how you redeem.

On each spending preset

After fees; points at their cash value. "~" marks estimates.

SpendingYear 1Year 2+3 yearsBreak-even
Student ($985/mo)~$889~$139~$1,167Month 2
Couple ($2,555/mo)~$1,230~$480~$2,190Month 1
Family ($3,350/mo)~$1,418~$668~$2,755Month 1
Frequent traveller ($3,880/mo)~$1,577~$827~$3,230Month 1
Big spender ($7,960/mo)~$2,441~$1,691~$5,822Month 1

Who it suits

  • People who spend a lot on bills and gas, where it earns above its base rate.
  • Even light spenders: on a student's $985 a month it still earns back its fee.

Who should skip it

  • Nothing stands out on the presets; check it against your own spending.

Fees and rates

Annual fee
$95
Foreign transaction fee
Not stated
Purchase APR
19.74% to 27.74% (variable)

Rewards

  • 3x on alaska and Hawaiian Airlines purchases (assumed half of your flight spending)
  • 2x on gas and EV charging, cable, streaming, local transit and rideshare
  • 1x on everything else

Eligibility and availability

Income
None published

Published requirements only. We don't estimate approval odds.

Assumptions

  • Point value: Atmos Rewards (Alaska and Hawaiian) points at 1.50 cents each: no redemption style chosen, so its lowest published value (it has no cash redemption). Source: The Points Guy monthly valuations, October 2026.
  • Welcome bonus: 50,000 points and a $99 Companion Fare after $1,500 in purchases in the first 90 days. Your spending meets it in month 1.
  • Note: The Companion Fare isn't valued.
  • Note: The 10% bonus for Bank of America account holders isn't counted.

Not counted or not confirmed

  • Foreign transaction fee isn't on the card page.

Perks, listed but not valued

  • Free checked bag and preferred boarding
  • $99 Companion Fare each anniversary after $6,000 a year
  • 20% back on inflight purchases

Earns more every year after year 1

On a family's spending, these keep more value from year 2 than this card's ~$668.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Bank of America Atmos Rewards Ascent worth it?

On a family's spending ($3,350 a month, points at their cash value), it's worth ~$1,418 in year 1 and ~$668 a year after that, after a $95 annual fee. It covers its fee by month 1.

What is the Bank of America Atmos Rewards Ascent welcome offer?

50,000 points and a $99 Companion Fare after $1,500 in purchases in the first 90 days.

Does the Bank of America Atmos Rewards Ascent charge foreign transaction fees?

The issuer's page doesn't state its foreign transaction fee, so check the full terms before travelling.

Sources

Rates, fees and offers are set by the issuer and may change. Check the issuer's terms before you apply. We don't estimate approval odds.

Compare it with 59 other cards on the US card comparison or read how cards are valued.